• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

4 wheel drive not engaging???

blr_sts

NAXJA Forum User
I'm a noob to jeeps and 4 wheel drive in general but I do have some knowledge of how it's supposed to work. When I pull the lever up into 4 high the part time light comes on and everything but when I hit the wet grass coming up the hill behind my house i do nothing but spin the rear tires. Now my buddy also has a cherokee so I crawled under his and the shaft that comes outta the transfer case up to the front axel doesn't spin freely in 2 wheel drive. I'm assuming thats normal because I know that his 4 wheel drive works great. Now when i crawled under mine that same shaft just spins and spins. Now like i said i'm new to this so i really don't know what's supposed to do what. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

if it is a vacum actuated axle, follow the vacum lines to the axle, should be near the passenger side top of the axle. verify that the lines are connected at the transfer case and the axle with no cracks or disconnected segments.

is it possible that the previous owner pulled the gears out of the diff. that part time light should only come on if the hubs engage. the front drive shaft should be turrnable by hand when it is dissengaged but should not just spin freely.

it is possible that's what the previous owner could have done. he was kinda shady. i'll take a look at the lines tomorrow once its light outside. and yeah the shaft spins pretty easy with 4 wheel drive disengaged