• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Need some help with a ZJ

RaiderX7

NAXJA Forum User
Hello my XJ brothers. Im having a problem and wondering if you guys can help. First off i own a 99XJ. I bought a 96 ZJ for 600 that had a blown tranny. I got it off my friend. When i bought it the tranny was already inside the tailgate. But he assured me the engine ran fine. So 2 weeks ago i finally finsihed rebuilding the tranny on it. I got everything togeather and go to crank her and nothing. She cranks and cranks but no start. I am getting no fuel presure and no spark. I already replaced the Crankshaft sensor. All the fuses are good and also the relays. Its not the NSS. I am a mechanic but this is really starting to piss me off. I am getting no codes. I am leaning towards the Camshaft sensor but dont want to spend the money if i dont have to. I know this is a XJ site but i already posted on the ZJ forums and they take awhile. Plus for some reason i have more faith in my XJ family. Thanks for any help guys.

Shit i forgot. its a 4.0L. also a update while im at it. So i said fudge it and picked up a cam shaft sensor and a new cap and rotor. But for some reason now she doesnt start in park just neutral. Still same cranks but no start. is thier a sensor in the tranny that i could of fucked up that would cause this.

The crank in neutral and not park *IS* likely the neutral safety switch. Why do you say it's not? For the crank and no start, I'd look at the crank position sensor. It's mounted on the bell housing, drivers side. You can search and find troubleshooting and repair/replacement help.

When i said i dont think its a NSS i meant for the not starting thing. I already got a NSS to solve the no starting in park thing.