• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Install of TJ Trailguide GPS in an 2000 XJ.

xjjeepcjs

NAXJA Forum User
I am so excited about how this project is going that I decided to post some of it before it is completely done.

Some of you have asked about some of the fiberglass work I do for myself and friends, so I decided to do a how to write up on something that I have never done before to show how the process works for me.

First off, I wanted a GPS unit in my Jeep, and I was really jealous of the TJ Trailguide setup. It was exactly what I wanted. It is small, handheld capability, motor cycle capable (if I ever get one, and Jeep mounts available. The problem is that the mounts were only available for TJ’s and JK’s. I choose the Garmin Quest II GPS unit cause the price had dropped and made it easier to afford.

The mount for the GPS would not have looked good if I just cut the dash or installed it on top. It would have either looked like crap or been too high off the dash. The dash needs to be cut, but the contours of the mount would make it impossible to get a tight good looking fit. So, I decided to make a fiberglass form of the dash to attach to the mount and hide the dash cuts. This is a fiberglass how to on making a mold of an existing piece.

First thing is to decide where to mount the piece. I centered it with the center dash console and taped up the dash area that I would be making a mold of. Make generous overlaps with the tape, because you DO NOT want resin to leak into unwanted areas.
PA070034mim.jpg
P1010022.jpg