• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

manifold debate

xtp45lc

NAXJA Forum User
I have been reading old posts about cracked exhaust manifolds and upgrade headers-I welded what I could reach on mine and smeared never works band aid stuff on the back side-it's cracking in a new place now and evident I need to pull it apart. I am an experienced welder but I know eventually it will crack agian next to the repair-I am asking for advice-I dont want to do this more than once. has anyone tried re-enforcing the area prone to cracking,and if so does this simply move the problem ,creating a weak link elsewere? I'd like to get away with only having to buy new gaskets,but thinking I may be ahead by just ordering a better design and call it done.this is an'88 limited with 215000 miles-I am planning on keeping it at least one year,and perhaps more if it continues to be reliable. so-anyone had luck fixing the OEM? or advice on aftermarket choices? thanks,Steve

My welds used to last a year and a half, maybe a little longer if I was lucky. They'd usually crack again right next to the weld.
I relax the welds with a torch after MIG now (faint red about 600 F) and let them cool slow. The usually last 3-5 years.
Next time I'm going to try a softer wire, something with a high nickel content and see how it lasts.
A friend said he brazed his cracks shut and it's been holding up well. The early Renix headers are an alloy, steel, copper and perhaps a bit of nickel. I've done enough welding to spot the signs and how the metal reacts to heat, softer welds may actually hold up better.
I also use a large thick piece of flat stock and clamps to keep the exhaust manifold straight while welding. I made the mistake of welding and then not having the bolt holes and pins line up, I had to stress it to install it.