• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

goferitoffroad.com tie rod flip inserts

outlander

NAXJA Forum User
I'm probably going to sound like a total newb so be easy!

What benefits will I see from using this kit from http://goferitoffroad.com/products.htm besides the tie rod being in a less vulnerable place.

Will my rig handle better and will I get more droop due to the steering being closer to stock?Does anything else need to be addressed when installing a t.r. flip kit?Will the rig be more stable on the high way with less bump steer off road?

This is on a 89 xj with r.e 5.5" lift. and stock steering(gasp!!)

Thanks,
Mike

I'm gonna have to say by just doing that your steering would be worse.
unless you did something with the track bar as well.

flipping the tie rod's will lift the whole assembly about 1.5 inches, changing the angle of the drag link (drag link and track bar are supposed to be parallel)

if you used a drop track bar frame mount or raised the axle end of the track bar that should cure it, but dont quote me on that

later Mike

jeepdeepfreak said:
I'm probably going to sound like a total newb so be easy!

What benefits will I see from using this kit from http://goferitoffroad.com/products.htm besides the tie rod being in a less vulnerable place.

Will my rig handle better and will I get more droop due to the steering being closer to stock?Does anything else need to be addressed when installing a t.r. flip kit?Will the rig be more stable on the high way with less bump steer off road?

This is on a 89 xj with r.e 5.5" lift. and stock steering(gasp!!)

Moving the tie rods up will help the geometry but it is only a mild bit of correction. It might help, you might even be able to feel the difference. Given the price it might be worth doing.