• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Axle help

kj139

NAXJA Forum User
I've searched and searched and have found several similar problems discussed. All offer some places to look but I'm hoping to narrow down my problem a bit.

I'm almost done with a complete overhaul of my '88 XJ. The only things I haven't changed or re-built are the tranny and radiator. That being said, I am no mechanic. I've been figuring out how to wrench by using NAXJA and picking the brains of a couple of friends.

In addition to many things, I just installed a T&T 5.5" longarm along with a Ford 8.8 and a HP Dana-30 out of a '95 XJ. I completely rebuilt the axles including ARB's, gears, Alloy USA 30-splines up front and a Superior Super 88 in the back. I also trussed the front and put on the Currie HD steering with a flip-turn kit as well as a Rusty's track bar & bracket and a Tom Wood's CV shaft with AA SYE.

When I got everything back together, I pulled it into the yard to wash off the brake fluid I just spilled everywhere and I noticed a loud banging when I would turn the wheel either way. I isolated this to the track-bar bracket being too tight and binding and the mount being too loose, as I could see it moving up and down. I adjusted these (I think sufficiently).