• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

cps fix

Michael Robinson

NAXJA Forum User
I found a way to get a worn out Renix crank position sensor working. Wire a 0.01 uF capacitor across the sensor's wires.
uF stands for "microfarads".
0.01 microfarads can also be expressed as 10 nanofarads (nF), or 10,000 picofarads (pF).
Don't use an ordinary ceramic capacitor, heat affects them too much. The ceramic caps are the little orangey-looking discs.

This worked like a charm for me. The cherokee wouldn't start at all, no spark no matter how much I cranked it. I wired the capacitor up and it started right up. I'm an electronics hobbyist so I had bags of capacitors of different values. I tried 0.1 uF first; the jeep started but didn't run right. A 0.01 uF poly capacitor worked like a charm.

So guys, if you have an old jeep take along a .01 uF capacitor when you go trailing.

Michael Robinson said:
Wire a 0.01 uF capacitor across the sensor's wires.

Thanks for sharing. Do you have a pic of how it looks like after wiring the capacitor, and would you say this to be a temp solution until a whole unit replacement?

Just for giggles, if is isn't too much trouble, disconnect the cap and try it again.
I don't understand how adding a capacitive load to an AC signal (albeit square wave) would do anything but round off, and/or load down the waveform.
To be fair, a certain capacitance coupled to the inductance of the pickup in the CPS would alter the resonance, changing the amplitude, but it seems too easy a fix, and so random.
It would be interesting to put a scope on the waveform coming from the CPS and see the difference.
You could have the classic "pinched and rubbed" wiring near the intake manifold. How long has this fix been working?