• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Drivetrain vibes 3" lift and 8.25 rear

ty20404

NAXJA Forum User
It's only a 3" Budget boost. It's a 2000, after I installed the lift I had some vibes but had the local 4x4 shop (Carolina Rockshop) do a TC drop (1"). Is that all I need? I see a lot everywhere about shimming the rear. I've been running this setup for the last 3 months with no appearant problems? I do think I notice just a small amount of vibe, but nothing bad... Do i need to put in some shims? and how much if i do?

to give ppl a better idea of whats going on include some info on your ride.
add a leaf, coil spacers, lift block, new coil? depending on the parts you may be at,under or over 3" of lift. Also auto or manual tranny, and which t-case you have will help.
I have a 97 with 3.5" lift and no vibes with just a TC drop, aw4 and 242. I am putting another 1.5" worth of lift on tomorrow, hoping for no vibes, but we'll see.
I would think if you have vibes a shim would help, as for how much I can't help you there sorry.

ty20404 said:
It's only a 3" Budget boost. It's a 2000, after I installed the lift I had some vibes but had the local 4x4 shop (Carolina Rockshop) do a TC drop (1"). Is that all I need? I see a lot everywhere about shimming the rear. I've been running this setup for the last 3 months with no appearant problems? I do think I notice just a small amount of vibe, but nothing bad... Do i need to put in some shims? and how much if i do?