• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

New to the Junk Yard

fscrig75

NAXJA Forum User
I want to start looking around my local junk yards for replacement parts and whatnot to save some cash. Is there a way to ID the XJ, by the VIN or some other way? I'm new to the yard so I thought I'd get some answers before going to one.
thanks

Do you mean you want to identify the year? You could do that with the vin but the easiest way is to look for the tag on the door. Every passenger car sold in the U.S.A. since well...forever has a tag attached to the drivers door or the door pillar. The month and year of manufacture will be there.

And, if you come across one without doors, you can look at the tail lights. Usually the year (last two digits) is on there. It is usually close enough (within a year either way), unless they have been replaced. . .

You can also look at the emmisons label under the hood, on the drivers side of the firewall. That how I find the year of the Jeeps at the junkyard.

For most body parts the year doesn't matter. The "big" change was between 1996/'97, new front and rear and new interior, but even then most of the "hard points" remained the same.

Search around this web site if you have a specific item you want to replace and aren't sure.

Have fun and bring band aids.

thanks for all the info, and about the band aids. haven't ever gone to the yard to do this, so i guess you pull off what you want, take it to the desk and they give you a price? or do you get the price first and then go get it?