• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Keep the 8.25 or?

hillbilly_jeeper

NAXJA Member #1081
I've finally got it into the budget to re-gear. About time. I'm still on a budget, and before i buy the parts, i need to decide what im gonna do about the rear. As of now, im running 33x10.5 tires, D30 front with lock right, and stock ABS shafts with 760x joints. No breakage so far. The rear is a 27 spline 8.25 with a factory posi. And i have 2 spare shafts. Most of my wheeling is northern caifornia rocks. And i'm a fairly easy driver. The rig is not a daily driver. I know going d44 or 8.8 would allow me to go 4.88 instead of 4.56. I also want to do a lunchbox locker in the back. I know i can get the no-slip for my track lock case, but not the lock rite. Or, i could find 29 spline axles for my 8.25, and a new carrier and locker. I know i can find lots of explorer 8.8's, drum, at pick n pull. D44 are harder to come by, and sometimes expesive. So, whats the best bet for the dollar?

I have an 8.25 in the rear of my jeep and i havent had ne problem with it at all. i swapped the gears to 4.11 and installed a lock rite with much ease. Mine does have 29 spline axles. If i was gonna go bigger tires then i would upgrade to a D44 or a Ford 9" but if ur gonna keep those 33's then i would stick with the 8.25

Last edited:
I dont plan on going bigger for a while on tire size. When i do, i'll probably replace both axles and 4 link the rear. But thats for another year and more money! Right now, the main priority is lower gears(yes, 3.55's and 33's do suck, get over it), and a rear locker.