• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

92 xj Lift Install - Tires rubbing

92xjdean

NAXJA Forum User
Hey all,

I just installed the rough country 3" lift with the new lower control arms, new coils, new shocks (front and back) new add a leaf in the rear with 31" x 10.5" BF Goodrich Mud Terrains on 15x10 Rock Crawler wheels. The tires are rubbing the fender flares and wheel wells.

Now, before you beat me up too bad with technical critique on any combinations, I just ask that you make it constructive. I'm new to this and I want to learn, so please help me out. First, I think the wheels are too wide......second, I never knew about backspacing on a wheel or anything like it. I think my problem may be backspacing. My guess is that the backspacing of the wheel brings it in under the wheel well, thus, taking it away from rubbing? So, my thoughts are that I have the wrong wheels and I need some backspaced wheels to fix my problem. OK, now please let me know your thoughts. Thanks guys...I love this website.

p.s. I have pics, how do you post?????

Dean

Last edited:
10" rims with 10.5" tires? Yeah, your rims are too wide for starters. Stock rims will be fine or some 15x7's with about 5" backspace..

How is this OEM Tech?

Look, give us newbies a break. I posted to the wrong forum, I know that now.

Yucca-Man said:
10" rims with 10.5" tires? Yeah, your rims are too wide for starters. Stock rims will be fine or some 15x7's with about 5" backspace..

How is this OEM Tech?

he also tried to help.

is it rubbing on the road? does it do it offroad with the sway bar connected? those 10" wheels probably have too little backspacing bringing them out. to run 31s on 3" of lift you need to either add bumpstops or trim the fenders.

Ramsey said:
he also tried to help.