• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Looking for a sanity check for the upcoming build

ronlarimer

NAXJA Forum User
I am new to NAXJA and other Jeep forums, but I have been an active member in Miata and SV650 forums for about 5 years. My Miata had a fully adjustable suspension, roll bar, 6pt harnesses and some subtle exterior mods and my SV is fairly highly modified with suspension, dual headlights, clip-ons, rear sets, brake lines, new gearing, et cetera; so I am familiar with some of the pitfalls of modifying vehicles.

With the addition of a new son the Miata has been sold and I bought a Acura TL, the wife has decided she wants it which frees me up for a new toy and I have started searching for an XJ that will be a daily driver, but since I work from home and have the TL as a family vehicle will see relatively low mileage. I am completely green to the "sport"/hobby and want do the build progressively until I find the limit of my commitment to the sport. With the possibility of it becoming a dedicated trail rig at some point in the future. (3 years)

After lurking for a couple of days this is what I am thinking, with my budget, please pick it apart and point out anything I have missed.

** STAGE 1 - MALL CRAWLER **

650 - Suspension Lift - Rubicon Express RE6010
100 - Slip Yoke Eliminator - Rubicon Express RE1807 (hack and tap)
300 - CV Drive Shaft - Rubicon Express RE1898
60 - Brake Lines - TJ Steel Braided
150 - CB Radio
400 - Wheels - MT Classic II (15*8)
500 - Tires - 31*10.5*15
140 - Misc
-----

** STAGE 2 - "SPORTSMAN" **

75 - Recovery Hooks
250 - Roof Rack -
75 - High Lift Jack
265 - Rock Guards - C4x4 CF-XJ-RNB
750 - Skid Plates - Engine, Transfer Case, Differential Skid, Gas Tank
85 - Misc
-----

** STAGE 3 - OFF-ROADER **

500 - Front Bumper
500 - Rear Bumper
850 - Wench