• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Important steps in changing the AW4

scprandy

NAXJA Forum User
I know I'm just asking to be flamed by asking this , but hey, I'm a newbie, I'm supposed to ask stupid questions, right?
I bought a new , not rebuilt, AW4 for my 1990 XJ, also got new flex plate and TC.
I have looked through the AW4 manuel which I have gotten directed to from other site users, thank you.
However, this did'nt answer my question.
When installing the new Tranny and TC, do I have to pour ATF into the TC prior to instalation, or do I pour all 13-16 quarts of ATF down that little hole for the dipstick?
Sorry if this is just a little too stupid a question for you people, but I have never changed a tranny before and I seem to remember someone telling me make sure to fill the TC, but that was on another type tranny.
My Haynes book did'nt mention it, nor did the AW4 manuel,I probably dont need to since those two ref. make no note of it, just wanted to ask here.
Thanks!

I can't imagine anyone here flaming a n00b who takes the initiative to replace his own tranny and TC. Kudos to you for taking on such a job for the first time. I remember a long time ago people telling me I was crazy to try and replace the tranny in my Fiat Spider myself since I had no idea what the he11 I was doing. No better way to learn than to "just do it"

scprandy said:
Thank you Dragline, but have you ever heard of putting fluid into the TC prior toinstallation?
Go head and put a little in say a quart, the rest will have to be pumped in by the transmission.
Double check the flex plate then check it again, there has been lots of problems with the wrong flex plate.