• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Couple Lift Questions

Backdraft

NAXJA Forum User
Ok fellas, I'm finally going to get this ugly dog up in the air a little. I got some rustys 4 inch leaf packs, upcountry front coils and spacers. Scored a set of DT3000s as well.
Here are my questions. Is anyone running 4 inches or so of lift and the stock control arms, and if so how squirrelly is the the handling?? Also can I use the YJ brake lines for extentions or do i need something longer? As far as keeping the Jeep running, I know what Im doing, but as far as lifts and suspension goes, Im still learning a bit. Thanks for the opinions and help.

Mike

i had 5 inches of lift with stock control arms and no handling problems,but the stock lcas will limit the atriculation of the axle.
i think yj brake lines are long enough.

guten Tag mudracer, thanks for the info. Anyone elses expierence?

Mike

I run stock brakelines at 5" of lift. I just bent the metal line strait and bolted it down next to the shock. I will be going with yj ones soon because of my long arm setup Im working on.

I had stock brakelines on about 5" of lift. If you simply take out the star nut holding the brakeline, straighten out the hardline and move the bolt down (drill and tap) you should have a decent amount of brake line. If not YJ lines are about $50 a pair and I believe they are 3" longer (don't quote me on that, never measured mine for sure):anon:

I have 4.5" of lift and stock control arms. They are fine and I do have enought castor and such. They do limit flex some (that can be modified to correct) but a better reason to go to after market control arms is their lack of strength and softer ride on road.