• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

2wd lift kits

ApacheMechanic

NAXJA Forum User
Is there any certain lift kits made only for 2wd? I see all these XJ kits but they don't specify 2 or 4wd..Does that mean they fit both? yes i'm a newbie:) Thanks for the help...oh..also..Any recommendations for the amount of lift I go with? Gonna be using my Iraq money :)

ApacheMechanic said:
Is there any certain lift kits made only for 2wd? I see all these XJ kits but they don't specify 2 or 4wd..Does that mean they fit both? yes i'm a newbie:) Thanks for the help...oh..also..Any recommendations for the amount of lift I go with? Gonna be using my Iraq money :)

yes they will fit both

one more question....each kit usually has two diff. options....Add a leaf or spring pack...what's the difference..and if I already have a saggy rear which would help more?

The nice thing about lifting a 2WD is that you can adjust the caster back to stock specs without screwing up the front axle pinion angle, thus (hopefully) avoiding death wobble.

Be sure to get an alignment after any lift. And don't forget that a lift will drag your front axle off center. You need an adjustable track bar, and the kits don't include that.

most "FULL KITS" include an adjustable Track bar

definetly get full packs. what are you gonna be doing with it, prerunning, mallcrawling? might want to look into some drop brackets so your ride doesnt suffer

Eagle said:
The nice thing about lifting a 2WD is that you can adjust the caster back to stock specs without screwing up the front axle pinion angle, thus (hopefully) avoiding death wobble.

Be sure to get an alignment after any lift. And don't forget that a lift will drag your front axle off center. You need an adjustable track bar, and the kits don't include that.