• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

rod/main bearing replacement without pulling engine?

arhiney

NAXJA Forum User
Hello All,

I am new to the xj world and have recently purchased a 95 cherokee with the 4.0 HO. The engine has 122,000 miles on it and runs great except for a knocking sound from the rear bottom of my engine. I have read other posts about the same problem and the advice was to drop the oil pan and replace the rod bearings. Would it be wise to also replace the main bearings at the same time? Would I need any special tools? What type of replacement bearings are best? What seals and gaskets would I need to get? I'm cheap and want to do everything myself. It's alot of questions I know. I would just like to save myself the expense of having the whole engine rebuilt or buying a re-manufactured engine. I would appreciate any comments or suggestions. Even better would be a step by step guide or a link to find one.

Thanks
Adam

The best advice I can give is to get a factory service manual. Mine says that you don't have to pull the motor to replace the bearings but it is for a different year ... get one for your '95. Mine also lists that the only special tool needed is a homemade bent-up cotter pin gizmo and a popsicle stick (no joke). Get a FSM.

The rod bearins usually go before the mains. Clearly, once the work of dropping the pan has been done it's a good idea to replace the mains while you're in there, but it may not be necessary.

BUT WAIT