• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Best lift size?

vfly172

NAXJA Forum User
I am new to the jeeps, and ready to lift my DD to make it alot more wheelin friendly. I want to be able to fit 33s and not have to trim at all. What size lift is good on a 93 that is also good on the road and highway? I don't want anything too high to make it tippy, but I also don't want to rub when I flex. It wont be alot of flexing, but there are some challenging places near me.

33's won't fit without trimming no matter how much lift you run, unless you stick to the pavement and never go offroad. The wheel well openings are too small for anything bigger than a 31" tire, so some amount of trimming is required for anything larger, if you want to have any kind of usable suspension travel offroad.

Uh, you do realize that BW flares require a fair amount of trimming just to be installed, right? Check out http://jeepin.com/features/bushwacker/ for more on the flares and their installation.

That said, if you're doing the BW flares, you'll have ample clearance for 33's, just be sure to get some 15x8" rims with 4" or less backspacing.

For the lift, I'd recommend the Rubicon Express RE6200 5.5" Extreme Duty lift, but you could probably get away less lift if you wanted. The biggest things I like about the RE6200 kit are the drop bracket kit for the control arms and the HD trackbar setup. You'll probably have to do an SYE kit and double-cardan (aka: "CV") rear driveshaft for that much lift though, so keep that in mind when you're budgeting.

Will that be too high to keep it a DD? I am thinking maybe 32s would be better....but is it also true that u can add on to the RE lifts to make them bigger? I could go with the 4.5" for now maybe.