• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

What does everyone think of this antenna mount?

Yea it looks cool, which is why I'm kinda aiming towards it, but I want it to function as well as any other mount that I could use on the rain gutter and stuff like that.

If I understand this right, if you're mounting it to a fiberglass hatch, you want a non-ground plane type of antenna.

ChiXJeff said:
If I understand this right, if you're mounting it to a fiberglass hatch, you want a non-ground plane type of antenna.

As long as you provide a "ground" wire to the bracket you will have established a "ground plane".

ChiXJeff said:
In this case, a very small ground plane, just the base of the mount itself. The hatch itself has no ground plane to speak of.

I'm not an RF engineer, I don't even play one on TV. See http://www.firestik.com/Tech_Docs/GP-or-NGP.htm

Re-read your own article,it refers to applications with little to no metal.It doesnt matter about the small area of the fiberglass hatch,only the entire(metal) area of the vehicle!
BTW:boats often use a metal cathode plate thru the hull to establish a better ground plane using the water as "earth",how do you "earth" ground your Jeep.Big rigs are also about 90% fiberglass since the late 70's,I wonder why their rigs work?

Last edited:
xjj33p3r said:
So I'm kind of lost, if I do put this mount on my hatch, I will not be able to get a signal through the antenna?
Another thing to keep in mind: if you mount it sticking out sideways (the mount that is) you might rip it off along with a piece of a hatch on a rock or a tree.

your antenna mount has to be grounded - so if you attach any mount to the hatch, you will have to run a ground wire to some metal on the body of the XJ (unless its a newer XJ with the metal? hatch)