• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

good tires for offroading

88bluecrunched said:
what brand of tires are people running on there Xjs? And what brand is the best in everyones opinion?
depends on the terrain and the duty (how much pavement how much off pavement and on what type of pavement). Quite a few will praise MTR's for rocks. Myself, I'm partial to BFG AT's.

Whatever you do if you spend the $$ on new tires, get them somewhere where they will give you a no hassle road hazard warranty (free rotation and balance are also nice perks)

As much as everyone else hates them I LOVE my Thornbirds. They are 33x10.50s and clean themselves out GREAT in mud. Also, I have been driving around on them for two years and still have plenty of tread. The only thing I didnt like was how they acted on rocks. And you cant beat a 10 ply sidewall!

I also like MTRs and before I lifed my jeep I ran 30"ers. Great tires!!

I'm running trXuS MT's right now and I love them. They work very well off road, and have very good road manners. Plus they are cheaper than BFG and Goodyear and are quieter. I got them from 4WheelParts with a no questions asked lifetime warrentee for something like $520 for (4) 31/10.5/15.

Well if you want to know what I've got, I run Wild Country Radial XRT's! Some nice 225 75 R15's! For the off-roading, highway, and bad weather driving I do you can't beat the imitation all-terrain design!:D

But really, at only $44 each on sale when I got them, they've worked fine for like 2 years and hopefully will until I step up to some much larger TRXus MTs!

I second Osprey413 on the trxus MT's. I ran BFG's and Mickey thompsons as well on my XJ and I do believe that interco has found the perfect balance for a duel purpose tire in the trxus MT.