• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Clearence problems with LA's and a hp60

BIGWOODY

NAXJA Forum User
Please don't bother responding if you're not sure what you're talking about. I put a HP ford 60 in my MJ, used RE brackets on the axle, used RE long arms, same set up I had on the d44 before. My problem is the mounting the top link on the housing, on the 44 it had a bridge, worked great. The 60 I used nickle rod and welded the mount directly to the housing, my problem is when the suspension cycles and the diff. rotates slightly it binds and hits the top link on the housing. Problem 2 is, I wasn't able to put the upper link mounts parallel to each other, meaning the upper arms had to be adjusted at 2 different lengths, I'm no engineer by any means so suggestions are welcome. Will the upper arms being at 2 different lenghts cause binding or is it just the fact that the one link is contacting the housing? I took it wheeling today and it seemed to do fine, the only difference I have noticed is it doesn't flex as well as it did with the d44 in the front. The upper link on the diff side sorta "clearenced" itself today on the trail, it bent slightly but it didn't crease, just a smooth bend. Help please.....solutions...anyone?

DSCF0119.jpg

DSCF0120.jpg

DSCF0122.jpg

It looks like you have a couple options; run only one upper on the passenger side or raise the mount on the housing. Either way, you will need to address the driver's side upper arm contact issue.

-Jon

Kaczman said:
It looks like you have a couple options; run only one upper on the passenger side or raise the mount on the housing.

I would at least give this a try before busting your balls anymore to get it to work, if taking the ca off doesnt work for somereason, then start thinking about other options....