• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

newbie alert: what causes the vibes?

Beej

NAXJA Forum User
I am a newbie, and I have searched for the answer to this already with no consistent explanations. I have a 97 with a 3" lift and 31s. It has a command trac and an 8.25 rear with a limited slip(?). It has minor vibrations at speed around the 55mph mark. What i want to know is, what is the problem with newer xjs that seems to result in vibes after lifting? I want to address the vibes and I think I will do the SYE thing by the holidays, but I am wondering what causes it? I know this is a seriously newbie question and i would not ask if i could find the answer. One thing i did find referred to was something about the tcase output. What is it that is different on my jeep as opposed to older ones? Hopefully someone can fill in my blanks without too much flaming? I already know how to fix it, I just want to know why it happens.
Thanks ever so much in advance,
Beej.

Tire size, tire type, allignment, warped wheel, bad tire. Take your pick. Most likely and alignment issue. Or you can do what I do, avoid 55 mph....... :)

In '96 the tailcone was changed to a longer one that has a built in seal so you could pull your rear d-shaft and not leak all the fluid out. This longer tail cone means a shorter d-shaft and steeper angles.

CW said:
In '96 the tailcone was changed to a longer one that has a built in seal so you could pull your rear d-shaft and not leak all the fluid out. This longer tail cone means a shorter d-shaft and steeper angles.
Thank you very much, simple and to the point. Enjoy the reputation points!
Beej.

Beej said:
Thank you very much, simple and to the point. Enjoy the reputation points!
Beej.