• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Need lift vibe help!!!

tnxjjeeper

NAXJA Forum User
I just installed a 41/2 inch lift on my 97 Xj. The driveline has quite a bit of vibration. I have a transfer case drop kit, but I am new at this and don't know how to install it. I put the lift on myself, so I am hoping i can install the drop kit as well. Any help in solving my proublem would be much appreciated.

If the 97 cross member is anything like the older xj's, you should have 2 bolts going up into the frame rail from below the x member and two studs coming down from the frame rail into the x member secured by 2 nuts. Put a floor jack under the x member and remove the 2 bolts and the 2 nuts. This will allow you to lower the x member with the drive line attached a few inches. You'll then need to remove the two studs either with a par of tight vicegrips or by threading two nuts on to each stud and tightening them together as a jam nut set up. You may then be able to loosen the studs by turning the top nut with an open end wrench. this *should* loosen the stud from it's weld nut in the frame. Onece the studs and bolts are out, slide your tcase drop in and reinstall the x member with the longer, supplied bolts.
If need be, for access to the studs, you can separate the x member from the tranny mount, just make sure that the tranny is supported on a floor jack, instead of the x member.
HTH

Forget the tc drop and buy an AA HD SYE and driveshaft (about $500 for both) If you don't know how to install a tc drop I would advise getting a good shop to install the SYE.

Did you do any research before buying your lift?

the 97+ XJ's are more prone to vibes after lifting than the earlier style. The drop may not solve the drive angle problem. You may need to go to an SYE kit eventually.