• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Project Long- Arm Complete! (pics)

WhiteXJMax

NAXJA Forum User
Took about a week.. with my shop time.. tell me what you think
later, Max
IMG_3446.jpg

IMG_3444.jpg

IMG_3442.jpg

The XJ..

IMG_3448.jpg

Looks good and stout to me. Really thinking about a system like that in the rear. Looks like it could be so simple..........

Nice and simple. Should work well for you. Check your welds occasionally. I'm not trying to bust your cajones, but I fit and weld for a living and you have some severe undercutting on your UCA tabs, and a few other areas that may lack sufficient penetration. Keep an eye on the welded stuff for cracking and weld failure and keep practicing. Otherwise, good execution.
Dann

Last edited:
I'm certainly not trying to bust you either.......

but your welder is a 120 volt machine, isn't it?

if not, it can get hotter than that.....

I'd crank it up and re-hit those welds.

otherwise, nice job!

Your rear DS looks thin, what brand is it?
Also not criticizing, just wondering.

Dann said:
Nice and simple. Should work well for you. Check your welds occasionally. I'm not trying to bust your cajones, but I fit and weld for a living and you have some severe undercutting on your UCA tabs, and a few other areas that may lack sufficient penetration. Keep an eye on the welded stuff for cracking and weld failure and keep practicing. Otherwise, good execution.
Dann

I just started welding about three months ago and was wondering what 'undercutting' is. ?

Burley