• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

need help transfer case questions???

bartlett91

NAXJA Forum User
Ok so im new to jeeps and just getting into them. I bought a 90 2door xj limited, and my transfer case ended up having a really bad crack in it. I ended up buying a np231 to swap into it i read alot about the swap and it seemed pretty simple. But i got the swap all done and went to try to move the jeep and it wont move just dont do anything... Im stumped can any one help me??

Is the transfer case properly engaged in gear, or is it in neutral ? What make, model, year, engine size, and transmission was the donor of the NP231?

231J came in 2 flavors

21 spline input - which is what your old one was

23 spline input - which, I'd bet dollars to doughnuts that you bought and installed, and is the reason it won't move.

If the input spline count was different he likely wouldn't have been able to bolt it up. Some years did have different input shaft lengths, if he put a short spline shaft on a long shaft transmission that may explain it. My money is on the linkage not being correct and it being stuck in neutral.

We'll see. Seems like the longer I live the more wrong I am!

I've seen it before, but it's been a dozen years or so since. I cant remember if it was a 21 on a 23 or 23 on a 21... one will slip over the other and not engage. Or, if it does, it lasts about 3 seconds.

The only other thing I can think is something went wrong with the trans....

90 automatic, right? Probably 21 spline.

The transfer case would be a 23 spline if it came from a 91 or later auto or an 89 or so (unsure of exact year) 4.0 5 speed. I believe all 4cyl manuals had 21 spline but not sure.