• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

SYE do i need it?

jamesbtaylorjt

NAXJA Forum User
Hi guys newbie here. I have a 2001 xj that i put a zone 4.5 lift on with 1 inch trans drop and add a leafs and shackels in back. Cut the fwnders and added thw cheap bushwacker look alike flares off ebay from poland that needed a lot of trimming to fit but look prwrty good for the money. Running 33's. Now to the question. It drives fine with a very slight vibration at hi way speeds. Its a dd only off road a few times a year. Do I need a sye? Ive read here some years dont need them. I dont really even know why it does. Any help would be great.

You dont NEED one but you should deffinetly put one in, your ride will be so much smoother. Also if you get an SYE you can take the tcase drop out and gan an inch of clearance!

I would say yes,you need one!The late model t-case is very problematic with vibes.What t-case do you have?Go with an HD kit over a H-N-T!

You don't need one in the sense that something will break if you don't but for ride quality yes you do. Hack-n-tap kits get the job done and you can use a stock XJ front driveshaft from an XJ with the automatic AW4 transmission. This is the cheapest way to do it and some swear by it. The HD SYE is obviously the better option but a properly done hack-n-tap will serve you well especially in a daily driver with light off-road duty. I plan to go this route since my funds are very low and don't look to go up anytime soon. Go for a yoke style hack-n-tap like the one available from Dirtbound Offroad (who is a vendor here on the site) over a flange style since a flange style will require you to source a pricey flange adapter for your driveshaft.

Good luck and welcome to the forum!