• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Welding frame siffeners with flux core

jeepfreak1020

NAXJA Forum User
Is it ok to weld my frame stiffeners and sliders with flux core? Im not going to be able to get gas by the time I do it, and really dont wana pay what gas costs. Will it be ok? Or should I be worrked about the splatter and dust hurting my paint or anything else? There going on a DD and I do care about my paint and dont want it to be ruined by useing flux core. Worst case I guess I could spring for some gas but would rather not unless it is needed.

I think the biggest issue with flux core is that it's not great for thin metal. I had a tough time doing my exhaust with flux, but I'm not very good at welding either haha. I was wondering myself if I could do the rocker panels or frame stiffeners with flux, but both have pretty thin steel.

You would have to be a pretty bad welder to get splatter on your paint if your welding stiffeners underneath your vehicle. I mean really bad.

Welded all my welds on the jeep with flux core (including stiffeners). Works just fine, flux works better for rusted/painted/galvanized steel.

You're over thinking it just start welding :thumbup:

Take your time with the preperation, make sure the metal is bare and clean. clean-up is a bit of a pain, same as arc welding, but its very do-able. And given the situation a flux core welder will do a better job ( outside, windy enviroment) than gas.

No reason you cant your under the jeep spatter will fall for the most part...

the blue norton rapid strip disc from home depot work awsome for cleaning up the frame rails, when welding the stiffners on just get a good pool goin with the stiffner then bring it to the rail, dont spend alot of time on the rail