• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Liscense Plate Relocation

webbjeep

NAXJA Forum User
I made this write up a while ago on Comanche Club, Im new to the NAXJA forums .... lets see how it goes

http://www.comancheclub.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=21476&start=0&hilit=plate+relocation

webbjeepxj said:
Since many of you guys have XJ's here's a little mod I finished up this morning .......
Materials:
Pilot Automotive Stealth light LED wht/red License Plate Surround $20
Peice of Galvenized flat steel $4
First thing, mark holes for the end of the bracket that will mount to your existing plate holes. Then I measured where I needed bends in the steel, then used a hacksaw to cut just a little into the steel (1/4 through), just to allow it to bend easier.
IMG_6383.jpg

Second, Drill your holes for where you want the plate. Also remove your exisiting License Plate lamp, drill a small hole to allow the wires to go through. Then splice'm up.
IMG_6386.jpg

Lastly, mount it up, double check your connections
IMG_6391.jpg

I thought this was a cool idea for anyone who does not want to drill massive holes into their rear hatch. Many people run bumpers with spare tire mounts and sometimes its a pain to rewire the plate, this seems like a pretty simple solution.

At night .....
Here's a pic that I took in blizzard
Enjoy!!!
IMG_6395.jpg

Much easier to drill 2 holes, push in 2 license plate holding nuts and screw on the plate. You can get a license plate light for fairly cheap, and that is just a couple more small holes. When you are done, you may have $10 in parts in it.

Sometimes, you just can't over think it.

Nice and simple. I like it.

I would though, stay away from lighting it that way.... I try not to attract too much attention.