• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

NW Wheelin' with AT's

Markos

NAXJA Forum User
All:

I've been running BFG AT's since 2001. They've worked well for the dry rocky terrain that I've lived in (Colorado & Arizona). I could never justify the jump to MT's due to the limited amount of time that my jeep saw muddy conditions. I'm upgrading my brakes, and it seems foolish to spend a lot of money on custom brakes when I'm going to lose stopping performance by going with MT's. I spend 95% of the time on-road.

So my question is, are AT's 'do-able' in the outskirts of Seattle? I'm thinking of moderate trails (open diff, small lift, 30's) with rock crawling, steep slopes, etc. Any thoughts?

30 AT,s will suck. Evan in the dry season you will find places with mud.
Just my .02

In my opinion no. There is no A/T tire out there that can compare to a nice road worthy M/T when it gets even a little wet. Im sure others will have different thoughts.

with your setup, sounds like All terrains will be fine. now when you step up to 33"s then i suggest a better tire.

I swear I have wheeled with a lot of guys up here that run AT's.. can't think of any names at the momment.

You can do it on ATs but that skinny thing by your foot get a workout.

I run ATs. Granted I'm at stock size but I do mostly long distance trips. I've been plenty happy with them. Of course when it gets moist I might have to spin the tires a little bit now and then but I prefer the ATs and the longer time they last

I spend 95% of the time on-road.

So my question is, are AT's 'do-able' in the outskirts of Seattle?
Yes.