• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

why does my motor cool off so quick?

BrettM

NAXJA Forum User
My motor seems to be a bit slow getting up to operating temp (new 195* t-stat), but what's worse is that I can get it up to 210, go in a store for 30 minutes, and when I come back out the temp is hardly even registering anymore, then I freeze until it warms back up again... very annoying in the winter.

any ideas why it cools off faster than lots of other vehicles? any ideas to keep it warm longer, short of running a block heater off my battery?

'88 4.0 w/ closed system

Mine seems to cool off pretty quick also.

Only thing I could say to keep warm it back up before you get out there is a remote start.

I have one in mine very easy to do.

I do them for a living so the cherokee is candy to do when it comes to some other cars

Good Luck

I really don't recommend using your battery to run a block heater, you will have a cold truck and a very dead battery. If it is cold enough outside it will cool your heater core ,lines, rad, so the engine temp must rise enough to cycle the thermostat thus cylcling hot water to your heater core before you get warm.

===========================
short of running a block heater off my battery?
===========================
I have never seen a block heater that worked off of 12V DC?

=========================
any ideas to keep it warm longer,
=========================
Try covering 3/4 of the rad with cardboard. It can be a pain to get in and out. Don't forget about it come spring or you will over heat.

Shop faster, dress warmer etc :)

bcmaxx said: