• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Soldering Supplies

whitexj98

NAXJA Forum User
I am a relative newb in soldering, well at least in the correct way I think...

I’m about to do a bunch of wiring and will be soldering the connections. I recently completely wired a dune buggy by soldering but I think I could have done it better.

I pretty much just used rosin solder and heat shrink with sealer.

Questions:

Flux? Should be used before soldering correct?
Tip tinner/ cleaner... is this needed?
Standard Rosin Solder...right?

Should something be applied before heat shrinking? I’m using heat shrink with sealer.

I am also going to get one of those fancy HF jig/ holder things with the dual clamps to hold while soldering.

Any other tips/ recommended supplies?

No flux is usually needed if you use rosin solder. The heat shrink with the sealer should do very well.

The key is to make sure the metal you are going to solder is clean. Freshly stripped wire is great.

Tip cleaner eats the tips. A water soaked sponge will clean your tip just fine and is the standard in the industry.

Ok, cool. I guess I wasn't doing it all wrong...

I really enjoy wiring stuff and I like to do it "the right way"

I have come a long way from how I wired my knock off KC daylighters when I was 16 on the ole S-15......(I used speaker wire to lengthen the kit wires wrapped in tape at the connections....) haha

Last edited:
When soldering oxidized (blackened) wire I like dipping them in a little bit of flux then heating first to clean them.

I'm sure many will consider this unecessary, but I get picky like that.

When I solder I use liquid flux on the wire it helps the solder flow.

Tip tinnier is used to clean and tin the tip when solder will not stick to the tip of the iron.