• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

New to all this

ctxj99

NAXJA Forum User
Hello, I am new to the XJ world. I have been off-road but have never owned my own. I would like some advice. I looked at the newbie post that contained links, but those links would not pull anything up for me. I think they're too old. I just recently bought a 99 xj with 128000 miles on it and it's in pretty good shape. Some minor things i need to fix like the front windows not working, but overall, i think i snagged a good one. It has a 3.5" Rubicon Express lift, Bilstein shocks, OX front locker, rock hard rear bumper, rock sliders and 4:10 gears. The underside is slightly rusted but i believe it's all surface rust that i can fix. He used to take it to pismo beach. Nothing too bad according to a former xj owner and friend. I am wondering if you all could advise me on what i should add to the jeep for a $1000. I only have about that to spare for further investment. In the future i can do more hopefully. I would like a rack on the roof. Any pointers or guidance?

Don't do a roof rack. Kills your mileage, gets hung up on things when crawling, and changes your COG.

What kind of wheeling do you want to do? Do you have a SYE? Any armor aside from a bumper?

I'd say get to know the locals, hit the trails and find out what you need before spending anything. There are quite a few XJ'ers near you, between NAXJA and the SocalXJ crowd, so introduce yourself in the SoCal Chapter.
It's a good way to learn what's needed and what isn't, if money is tight. Besides, you can probably score a used roof rack from somebody here who decided they don't need it anymore. :)

As to what you should do first... Well that depends. Do you like the way it drives? Other then the windows are there any other issues?