• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

looking for advice on buying my first home

NorCalChris

NAXJA Forum User
I'd like some advice. I'm looking to buy a house. I've never done it before, I'd like it to be an investment for my future. Everyone is always telling me it's time to buy, it's time to buy, so I figured I'd start looking and watching the market and learning about it. I owe on my student loans still, I look at that as long term debt. Not sure if those play a role in buying a house. I am looking for 150k and under. Id like to learn everything i can about how the process works, mortgages, repayments, tax write offs, first time home owner assistnace. etc... I guarantee I'll have a lot of questions, and as always, thank you for any advice.

i have some experience here but you need to be more specific. the points you mentioned could take up 3 or 4 books alone. I dont have that much time... But I will say that you should NEVER spend more than 45% of your take home pay on a home. the less the better. you can find some good deals right now on homepath.com. the banks are sitting on a lot of properties right now and are slowly selling them off.

as far as the debt. you might want to check out daveramsey.com and get some of his books or audio tapes.

And "Dolf De Roos" has an amazing audio book called "Wealth Magnet". he deals more with property investment but I'm sure his ideas might help you as well.

Someone else asked almost the same question within the last 8 weeks or so. Dig around the off-topic and see what you find. He got lots of good advise.

Since you plan on living in the house you need to be comfortable where you will live.
Before we bought we walked around the local neighborhoods we were interested in. Lots of time well spent getting the feel of different areas.
Learn all you can.