• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Just another '99 xj

Crazykyle90

NAXJA Forum User
I'm new to NAXJA, my names Kyle and I live in west central Indiana (perrysville)
I've used this forum a lot for reading into problems I've had during my build but just now joined the site.. I have a 99 xj, sits at about 3.5" lift and 36" swampers, a lot of trimming, Aussie locker front, welded rear, this jeep used to be owned by a friend who is on here (egghead), I got it from another friend who ended up with it some time after egg sold it.
ana7y7eg.jpg

5uhu9a6e.jpg

I got the jeep in a trade for a 90 xj I had, lifted 4.5", very rough, strict toy but it ran and drove, this one had a cracked block and was declared dead by the last owner. I traded jeeps with him plus $600 my way, it had a spacer in the front and drop shackle rear.
9uhevy2y.jpg

I was told the head gasket had blown and it overheated, then was filled with water to get it home, left sit all winter with water in the engine and it put a 10-11" crack in the water jacket on the side of the engine. I drug it in the garage to pull the engine, but I wanted to see the crack so I pulled the intake.. After looking it over I decided to grind it down and fix it, with jb weld! Haha and it's been like that for 2 years now, runs great! 200some thousand miles on it, been overheated bad several times and still keeps ticking along.
I wheeled it like that for the first year locally and on occasional badlands trips
a9e3uqym.jpg

ypyvebaz.jpg
vasunuba.jpg

adu8uzah.jpg

And learned the limits of it with open diffs haha