• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Independent rear suspension

Keithmania

NAXJA Forum User
I have access to a Lincoln LS 8.8 IRS. I have never wanted to take my Jeep crawling, but I came across Child9's toyo dual turbo I6 swap here http://www.naxja.org/forum/showthread.php?t=1033211 and thought how well would it work out with an IRS setup for street use. The thing I guess I am most interested in is feasibility. I have read other threads how its not all that feasible cause of cost in making it work for crawling but thats not my intent. Anyways, as mechanically inclined as I am, I am new to the world of fabrication and I know that making that rear end work with my jeep would be tons-o-fab work. Any input is appreciated...

if you don't have the means to build it yourself, the cost alone would be the prohibitave factor. anything will work with an unlimited budget, it's all about how much of that you can couter-balance by doing yourself.

I have thought about making an IRS set up for the race Cherokee, but I just don't see the return on the effort. I have a Monster Miata (345 rwhp) in which I use a Thunderbird SuperCoupe IRS 8.8 so I'm familiar with what you're proposing.

There are about 134,179 things I would do to a Cherokee before doing an IRS set-up. Unless you're just hard set on doing it for the fun of the project, in which case it won't matter what we say anyway.

EDIT: After reading your post more closely and noting your (self proclaimed) lack of advanced fabrication ability, DO NOT ATTEMPT THIS. This would be a challenging undertaking for even the most advanced fab shops.

-Matt

Last edited:
DO NOT ATTEMPT THIS

^This^

This would be a cool thing to see but I agree with Matt, that is a big undertaking even for a very good performance shop.

Last edited: