• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Colorado wheeler moving to western Washington

cnugent

NAXJA Forum User
Greetings,

My wife and I have decided to move from northern Colorado to Washington in the summer of 2016. We're looking at areas along the I-5 corridor from Olympia down to Vancouver, WA. Olympia is first choice so far. My wife is a CPA, and I'm a free lance writer.

Anywho, obviously wheeling will factor into the move, so I'm looking for guidance on mainly a good online group for support with technical Jeep issues, trail info, and of course, just some good people to wheel with up there. I'm not very active on NAXJA, and maybe that should change. I've neglected it and do most of my online interaction on colorado4x4.org.

So, anybody wanna dish on wheeling advice in the PNW? I'm more into light to moderate expedition-style exploring as opposed to rough technical stuff. I'm familiar with the USFS MVUM's, but if you can recommend a good trail book for the area that'd be huge, as well.

Oh yeah, tell me about this whole Sasquatch thing. I ain't down for meeting no angry ape man on the trail.

Thanks!

Chris

So, anybody wanna dish on wheeling advice in the PNW? I'm more into light to moderate expedition-style exploring as opposed to rough technical stuff. I'm familiar with the USFS MVUM's, but if you can recommend a good trail book for the area that'd be huge, as well.

Oh yeah, tell me about this whole Sasquatch thing. I ain't down for meeting no angry ape man on the trail.

Thanks!

Chris
Welcome.

Check out our trip reports forum for a preview of what our trails are like out here. Olympia is pretty central to some good ORV areas. Evans Creek and Elbe Hills are about an hour away, and feature some true northwest "timber crawling" with a good range of difficulty.