• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Beginner welding question

stockli

NAXJA Forum User
I am just learning how to weld and my experience so far has been a little stick and a tiny amount of MIG on a cheap harbor freight welder. I was able to pick up a complete welding rig including a Lincoln Idealarc 250 ac/dc, TIG torches, acetylene cutting torches and bottles, argon/co2 gas bottle and a bunch of other cool stuff for $200!

Now I understand the stuff I have is way too much for me at this point but do you experienced welders feel that this would be a good rig to really learn on? I would like to learn stick pretty well then move on to TIG as this unit is capable of TIG with some of the other items I got with it.

Im excited to start learning but its a little intimidating because this fat bastard weights in at a svelt 300+ lbs lol. Im used to a 30# buzz box lol.

Thanks!

Wow, good score!
I wouldn't hesitate using the TIG setup.
The local community collage has classes in welding, you may want to start there.
If not, next thing on your list should be plenty of scrap plate/sheet metal.
It takes a little practice to get weld rod dab and startup techniques down, that's
why you will need pleanty of practice metal around. 3"x8" rectangles works well for
practice.