• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

auto darkening welding helmets. which one?

2stix

NAXJA Forum User
ive been useing an old lincoln auto darkening helmet for over 10 years now. and it finally has taken a dive. the shield has a weird shading. like darker in some areas and lighter in others. plus i am getting flashed and have to re-set it all the time, in hopes it will work when i start. the viewing area is small at 3.5"X1". but hey at the time it was a nice piece. now it is time to get a new one. especially one that has the low amp rating for tig welding. i would also like a larger viewing area, but the larger it is, the more expensive the helmet it seems. i have been researching the net and found quite a few (pro) welders stating they tried a cheap northern tools, or HF helmet with good success. but like most, i would rather not skimp on my eyes safety. after looking at ALOT of different brands and price ranges, i cannot find anything of product origin of the shields. ive seen the same shields on some of the cheaper models as were on the more expensive ones (miller-lincoln-hobart-ect.). of course the shield is the most important piece. but are the more expensive helmets useing cheap china made shields, or are some of the cheaper helmets useing good shields? any pro welders here with some good advise to help me decide?

I love my Miller Digital Elite. When it comes to the safety of my eyes, I don't mind spending $275. I only get one pair.

Scott

hood.jpg

photo-4.jpg