• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Air Compressor shopping...input please...

Willis

NAXJA Forum User
Well, looked at Home Depot, Lowes, and Sears. Leaning toward a Craftsman unit.

#1 It is a belt drive and oil lubed unit. I had the sales guy plug it in to see how loud it was, not bad at all. Horizontal only. Vertical version not as powerfull, and less SCFM.

#2 This one was a little louder. It is direct drive, and no oil. I've been told these are 'disposable' units because the air pump has no oil, and not as long of a service life. I'd probably never wear it out though. This one comes with tools, no big deal, I'm a mechanic and have tons, but more it better right? Vertical or Horizontal versions available.

#3 Didn't get to listen to any of the rest, but it is a direct drive oil-less pump. As a general rule, oil-less pumps are louder. I like the size of this unit. Powerfull with good SCFM specs too. Good price too. Vertical only.

#4 No link for this one...It was at Lowe's too, but not on their website. It was a horizontal unit, 5 horse, less SCFM than the #3, but not that much less, maybe 1 SCFM less. It is an oiled unit with belt drive. Price was more than #3 at $347.

#5 Belt drive, oil lubed pump. Good specs. **Home Depot won't let me directly link to the unit. Click the link, click 'Air Compressors' then page down to the bottom, it's a horizontal 6HP 25 gallon unit for $339.**