• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

agm battery opinion

jcshaney

NAXJA Forum User
Well lets hear some opinions on agm batterys are they worth the money or not. At one time I was a big fan of optima batterys but they seem to have went down hill recently from what I have been hearing. The jeep will see moderate wheeling it does have a winch and some extra lights. If you are a fan of agm batterys what brand do you like. Thanks in advance

The negative press on Optima is BS, honestly.

I've been running a yellow top in my XJ for 5 years now, with erratic driving habits (it goes from DD to 4-month garage queen cyclically). Love it. I've deep-drained it at least a half a dozen times (Engel fridge/freezer) and it's still rock solid. At some point recently I put too much force on the negative top terminal, though, and the top has cracked a little (with signs of acid leakage). Still works great though.

If and when it dies, I won't even think twice about buying another one.

I killed a red top and a yellow top. Both of them lasted 2 years. The yellow top went into thermal overload on my battery tender.

I'm not a fan, but a lot of people are. I spent $120 on a group 34 AGM battery at the parts store and it works every bit as good as a $200 optima.

AGM is only a little more money than your standard batteries. One of the least expensive ones is the Die Hard Platinum, found at Sears. Otherwise, I typically buy batteries from Costco. Still have a 3 year free replacement warranty, and they do not ask questions.

The negative press on Optima is BS, honestly.