• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

87 Renix XJ No fuel, No brake lights, cranks fine

Ecomike

NAXJA# 2091
NAXJA Member
My 1987 Wagoner, new battery, cranks fine (Engine cranks, starter cranks), radio works, AC/Heat blower works, but does not start/run.
Also no brake lights or tail lights.

Got suspicious and found no Zero fuel at the fuel rail. I do not hear the fuel pump run when I turn the Ignition switch to run.

Been ages since I was an expert on the wiring, and going to dig into it tomorrow. Needs some quick ideas please.

I ran and drove fine when I parked it months ago.

Gotta be a common electrical issue, relay under the hood, or fuse under the dash. Ignition switch is not that old or overloaded like the old days..

Glad to see some folks kept the lights on here.

You can try swapping the relays around on the passenger inner fender and see if it's the fuel pump relay.

BTW, do you still have that fuel pump retaining ring tool I made and sent to you years ago?

You can try swapping the relays around on the passenger inner fender and see if it's the fuel pump relay.

BTW, do you still have that fuel pump retaining ring tool I made and sent to you years ago?

Thanks, I re-read the Renix manual last night, and plan to also test that Ballast resistor and the starter relay output to the
Ballast Resistor in the image below. Because I have no brake lights, or tail lights I suspect is not just a FP relay or ballast relay.
I never replaced the Starter relay below

image.png

Since I never throw stuff away, it is likely here, somewhere.

But the 2017 Harvey Flood (foot of water in the house) made a mess of everything here, and the joint damage, etc, in my hands limits what and how much stuff I can do now days by myself.

This getting old and fight RA gets old fast.