• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Floor repair

jp_of_fire

NAXJA Forum User
I have removed my seats, console and all the carpet and insulation in my XJ. I have a 1994 Country that has seen many miles of salty MN freeway. The bottom is rusty, but that is a different project. The problem at hand is I have several smaller holes ranging from 1.5"x6" the largest to 1"x.5" that need to be repaired before I apply POR-15 and then a heavy coat of herculiner. I would love to weld new metal in, but I have no welding experience and no welder. I have tried to find a helping hand, but no one knows anyone that would be willing to help. I kinda need this done before the 20th of August to show my uncle what i did to his former XJ. It was stock when i received it and it is a bit different with a 3" lift, 31" AT's, Bushwacker Cut-out flares, 9000lb winch, etc, he will be surprised! The only thing I can think of is to rivet new meatl over the top with sealer and maybe JB Weld or something to keep crap form getting past the seal. I also plan on 2-4 custom drain holes to speed up clean up after playing in the mud or to drain river water. Any ideas?????

If you know anybody with a welder IMO that would be the best way to go, otherwise rivets should work. If you lived a little closer I would try to help and let you borrow my welder, sorry. Ah I hate salt (fellow Minnesotan) Just extremely glad my 87 had an undercoating done a while back. Otherwise I don't think I'd have much of a floor left... good luck