• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

It won't start!

NATEBROD

NAXJA Forum User
Ok I'm new to the jeep scene but it looked like a whole lot of fun the last time I was out in the desert with my dirt-bike and my buddy brought his jeep.

So I bought a 1988 or 1989 XJ, the guy was not sure, from a charity auction on ebay. I picked the thing up yesterday and drove it home. The battery was dead but we jumped it and it started right up. I threw it in drive and did not have any problems until I filled the gas tank. I was experiencing a sound like a rock was being kicked up under the hood under acceleration. But it didn't do this before I filled the tank, anyway. So it was about a 25 minute drive back to my shop and we fooled around a bit when I got there. When I finally turned it off I immediately tried to start it again and nothing but clicking. So I cleaned up the battery terminals to see if the battery was just having trouble charging because of the corrosion. When I got done doing that I then tried to jump it again and the motor would turn over but it wouldn't start so i got some carb cleaner and sprayed it down the intake and sure enough it fired up just for a second or two.
So what I'm basically asking if there are any inherent problems with the fuel delivery system? I find it odd that it would drive all the way home, 25-30 miles, and then poop out right after that. I looked for a fuel pump relay or fuse but could not find one, anybody know where that might be located.

Natebrod

fuel pump relay is behind the battery under a black cover.

any gas coming out of the shrader valve on the fuel rail. sounds like the fuel pump died or the filter is clogged. filter is on the drivers side frame rail above the rear axle.