• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Flex plate, Torque converter or ??

Bugboy

NAXJA Forum User
I have a strange noise coming out from under the XJ. it seems to happen under load or if i am starting out from a complete stop on a turn or something like that. it sounds almost like a SLip and rattle at the same time. I am new to automatics so not sure what the possible problem could be. I was thinking torque converter but then someone mentioned about the flex plate. I have no idea with an automatic.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Bug

It could be a number of things ranging from a bad u-joint to crap stuck in the brakes. We'd need more info to hepl you diagnose it.

Do a search on the forums for cracked flex plate for tons of info. That sounds more like a bad knocking near the rear of the engine. Basically, you need to pull off the inspection cover on the forward face of the bellhousing and look up at the flex plate for cracks. Gently prying with a screw driver can help reveal crack near the center.

I did try to search but will try again how you suggested. But i dont think it is the flex plate if you are saying that it sounds more like knocking. It sounds like slipping and chattering almost like a clutch would. probably torque converter or maybe even trans. I do have a ujoint going out but that is definitely not the same sound. will try a search of torque converter. i guess.