• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Coolant Color

HawkZero

NAXJA Forum User
I just drained my radiator as I get ready for a flush and t-stat replacement.

This is my first time doing this and I have a question about the color of the coolant that I drained.

Should I be concerned about this?
coolant.jpg

You need to stop taking pictures of bottle-'o-piss.

No it just looks like someone used red and green coolant for a combo of .....that.

Looks Kosher to me.

Stallacrew said:
You need to stop taking pictures of bottle-'o-piss.

No it just looks like someone used red and green coolant for a combo of .....that.

Looks Kosher to me.

My first impression when I uploaded the picture is that somebody has got some serious renal failure issues.

Thanks for the opinion on the coolant. I'm going to replace with 50/50 green stuff.

its fine, just old. i would be concerned if it was overly cloudy or had visible chunks in it.

looks great to me.

Don't go to the store and pay just as much for 50/50. Get a gallon of water and a gallon of coolant from walmarket. It'll only cost like 87 cents more than the coolant.........and it might take more than 2 gallons.

GrimmJeeper said:
and make sure its distilled water! ;)

Good thing I just got some distilled water from Kmart for the humidor. 69 cents per gallon!

Prestone was dieing their anti-freeze yellow a few years back. Hopefully its NOT Prestone's "All Makes, All Models, Mixes with all Colors" Antifreeze, I think that might be yellow, if it was, that might explain why its cloudy, and its good you got it out of the system.

Perhaps the previous owner retro-fitted to G-05, which is probably good. Something we may all have to do, read below.