• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Rear sway bar..quick discos?

nonnie

NAXJA Forum User
I was going to take out my rear sway bar completely but was advised against it by my auto insurance buddy. Does anyone a rear sway bar disconnect? This would keep the po-pos happy and give better flex :confused1

Just take it off. An Up Country equipped XJ doesn't have one.

Really? I have been selling JEEPs since 1995 and never knew that. Do you have anything to back this up or is it common knowledge?:peace:

My 91 that I bought new with an Off Road Package, never had a rear sway bar.

It did have a little heavier front sway bar but that bent. Its' replacement never has bent.

It is very common knowledge in Jeep circles, that many XJ's didn't come with rear swaybars. When I took mine off, I didn't even notice a difference on the road. But it did help a lot off road.

Take it off, and try driving it with out. you will probably notice no differance. Heck half the time I don't even have my front swaybar in!!!!

nonnie said:
I was going to take out my rear sway bar completely but was advised against it by my auto insurance buddy. Does anyone a rear sway bar disconnect? This would keep the po-pos happy and give better flex :confused1
Its true, all Up-country equipped XJs came without rear sway bars. Removing the rear swaybar does significantly increase flex. Removing it wont have much (if any) effect on the on-road handling. I dont know of a company that makes rear discos for an XJ. If youve already lifted your Jeep and are running oversized tires, youve already modified it, its a little late to worry about any added liability, if that is your buds concern.

But if you run empty most of the time? It MAY help handing????????? To drop the rear.