• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

OK... a KJ Ball Joint ?

Redsnake

NAXJA Forum User
OK, a bit of history. I'm somewhat new to the Liberty as it's my wifes daily driver.

Mine is a '96 XJ Cherokee w/a 217K miles ... still rolling.

OK, Wife took in her Libby for the 2nd recall on the Front Ball Joints. Not sure if it was upper or lower, and that 2nd recall was done about 2-3 months back. Now shortly after the 2nd recall was done, my wife started telling me about creaking and clunking noises that would come f/the Libby when going over a speed bump or hitting a big pot-hole in the road. I've been in her KJ when this happens and it almost sounds like the front end suspension needs to be lubricated or greased up. That SHOULD NOT happen after new parts are installed. My concern is that these ball joints are going to fail soon and I'm not sure if we should return to the dealership (which is a HUGE inconvenience since we both work fulltime during the day) or what else to do.

Any suggestions as to what this sound/noise could be? Suggestions to tell the dealership??

Her Libby is an '03 w/ 74K miles.

I realize this isn't a KJ forum, but I posted this on another forum and haven't heard a peep... this great NAXJA site always helps me out on my XJ and since we're all Jeep junkies I figured someone here has to have a wife, gf, cousin, or someone that drives a KJ... :)

Thanks all...