• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Extreme Newbie Question

frankart3@hotmail

NAXJA Forum User
:dunno:

ok...this is embarrassing....but like I said...I am an extreme newbie.

I want to lubricate the steering linkage...I know what the steering linkage is, I've got the right lube, I have a grease gun...so what the heck do I do?

How much grease?
Do I have to disassemble the parts first?

It is so basic that I can't find and answer for it.

ps. I will pay up and become an official member this evening...i promise.

Look for the zerk fittings....or grease "nipples". They will be on your ball joint type joints. Just look for them on all your front end components. Stick the gun on there and fill them till you see the rubber cap thingy (i'm using newbie terms here) starts to buldge out a little. Don't fill them too much to where the grease begins to come out b/c then you have "broken the seal". You don't have to disassemble anything.

frankart3@hotmail said:
:dunno:

ok...this is embarrassing....but like I said...I am an extreme newbie.

I want to lubricate the steering linkage...I know what the steering linkage is, I've got the right lube, I have a grease gun...so what the heck do I do?

How much grease?
Do I have to disassemble the parts first?

It is so basic that I can't find and answer for it.

ps. I will pay up and become an official member this evening...i promise.

I've seen worse...

You see those little nipples on the side or back of the part? That's where the fitting for the grease gun goes. You'll feel and maybe hear a slight "click" when it's fully seated. (They're called "zerks", by the by. consider yourself edified...)