• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

CB Radio Question

ty20404

NAXJA Forum User
Okay, so i got a CB radio in my jeep... It's the one from Radio Shack that was like 140 dollars but I got it off of my friend for about 30... Anyways, I got a nice antenna mounted just above the rear right tail light.

Here's the problem: Everytime that I flip it to CB and try and talk accross the CB, I get a nasty screeching/booming noise coming through the car's stereo.

The stereo system is all aftermarket and I do have a 700 Watt RMS amp that runs all of the speakers in the system...

I'm kinda new to the CB radio thing, so if someone could explain wtf is going on and how to fix it, that would be great. Yeah it has all of the squelch and SWF adjustments and crap (not that I know what they do or anything)...

Thanks in advance.

Where did you run your wire for the antenna? I made sure to keep it away from speaker wires, amp wires and any other wires just in case. I don't know if that is the right answer but it is worth a try. I ran the power wire to my amp on one side and the antenna wire down the other, and I have not had the problem you are having. Good luck.

make sure the stereo is off before keyiing up the mic, a strong AM signal broadcast in close proximity to a car stereo will "bleed over" the stereo and when that bleed over comes out of your speakers you have an audio feedback loop between your speakers and your microphone.

in short turn off the stereo when you want to use the CB.

If it is not a strong CB this can have to do with placement of antenna lead/type and the relative position/type of amp leads.