• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Regear or reaxle?

XJME

NAXJA Forum User
I’m new to naxja and would appreciate any help you guys could lend me. I recently bought a 2000 XJ with a 6-7 inch lift that has ARBs, Dana 30 and the 8.25. I am running BFG ATs and don’t plan on running anything bigger. It has the 4:1 kit in the 231 and the guy put Alloy axles in the 30. This will be a daily driver with a good amount of highway driving. I like to go to Moab and play but wont be mashing metal with it, although I do enjoy occasional obstacles like Golden Crack. I got a quote to re-gear at the local diff. shop for $1500-$1800. I want to go with 4.88s. Is this money well spent for my needs? Should I sell the old axles and buy 44s? Is this a reasonable quote for the work? The XJ only has 40k on it so these axles should be in good shape. My appointment is for Monday. Any input will be greatly appreciated.:helpme:

Did the previous owner swap a HP D30 in there before dropping all that coin on a low-pinion 30?

$700-900 to regear a low-pinion D30 is a lot to spend...

With 6-7 inch lift, what size tire are you running? 35? I'd definitely say 4.56 as a bare minimum and 4.88 might be better with that combo although the 4:1 will help you in lo range anyway. the C8.25 limits you to 4.56 as the deepest gear choice although it seems you already realize that.

If you have the low pinion dana 30 that was put in front of the newer XJ than it is too weak IMHO for the tiny pinion that comes with the 4.88 gear set. If you dont want to change to a high pinion dana 30 stay with 4.56 gears but INSIST on using DANA made gear sets and don't get suckered into buying an install kit because they come with it. Last advise is the stance I take and that is "don't put a penny into stock axels." Upgrade.

Yucca-Man said: