• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

How long does unibody last?

yellowxj

NAXJA Forum User
I've been wheeling my xj pretty steady for almost 7 years...todays work/get it ready for the trail session found cracks on both sides of the transmission tunnel behind the shifter and under the back seat....4 cracks total about 1.5" long each...we all know that unibodys twist and flex...how long will it last? I've got subframe stiffeners and a 6point cage that lands its pads on top of the subframe...so I know its not tied in pro-style but its a lot better than a lot of people have...

so whos wheeled the same body for how long? with what resulting stuctural failure probably not related to wrecks or impact?

wondering how long before yellowxj "goes out to pasture"...no thats not just an expression in georgia...they really just go park it out in the pasture...

I've got two very small cracks on the top rear corners of my XJ. But they are so small I don't think it would affect the performance of the uniframe.

If I were you I would drill holes on the tops of your cracks.

Yes, you read that correctly. Removing material sounds counter intuitive to metal strength but when it comes to fixing cracks its a proven method because it reduces what engineers call "stress concentrations."

I got my information from a civil engineering class I took last semester called "mechanics of materials." I got an A in it, if that helps my credibility.

Oh I believe you. I've fixed cracks before...I had cracks in the upper corners too...I just wondered how many times you can fix it...or is there a time to cut and run

I believe mine will last nearly forever, at this point.